This is the "Home" page of the "5th Grade -Westward Expansion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

5th Grade -Westward Expansion  

Social Studies - 2nd Quarter
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2014 URL: http://deforest.libguides.com/content.php?pid=641605 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writing Topics

Westward Expansion Topics:

Lewis & Clark Expedition

Corps of Discovery

California Gold Rush

Oregon Trail

Pony Express

Sacagawea

Transcontinental Railroad

Orphan Trains

 

Start With Encyclopedias

Start HERE!

Encyclopedias and databases are reliable sources.  This means that experts have written the articles using trusted, truthful sources.  To begin to understand your topic, you should always start your search with encyclopedias and databases, not Google.  Here are some useful ones for this writing assignment:

 

Encyclopedias & Databases 

 

Grolier Kids online combines several encyclopedias that you can search all at once.  If you are having difficulty understanding the article, select a different one with a lower lexile (if available).

 

 

 

 

This encyclopedia has great features to help you understand the articles.  After you search for your topic and select an article, you can change the reading level (top right corner).  You can also double-click on words you don't understand to get the definition.  

provided by Badgerlink

 

Kids Search is a database that collects articles from all different sources including books, encyclopedias, and magazines.  Many articles include a lexile number so you know how close to your reading level it is.  

provided by Badgerlink

 

If you need to use these resources from home, see the the DAMS Library Resource Passwords Google Doc on the DAMS Libraries Reference Resources webpage.

DAMS Libraries

Profile Image
Ms. Shucha
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip