This is the "Starting Out and Citing" page of the "NoodleTools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NoodleTools  

Start a NoodleBib account, create citations, learn how to use the notecards and outline features, and much more...
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2013 URL: http://deforest.libguides.com/content.php?pid=451676 Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Out and Citing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Cite?

  • Give Credit to the Author or Creator
  • Locate Sources
  • Avoid Plagiarism
  • Stay Organized

How do I...?

  • NoodleTools User's Guide
    Find answers to all of your NoodleTools questions here.
  • NoodleQuest
    Need help getting started on your academic research project? NoodleQuest can help. Just fill out this short form and NoodleQuest will point you in the right direction.
  • Cite an e-book
    A NoodleTool guide (from the Knowledge Base) on how to cite an e-book on a device like a Kindle, Nook, or iPad.
  • NoodleTools Citation Knowledge Base
    How do I cite a journal? A blog? An article from a library subscription database? Check the knowledge base.
  • Show Me
    NoodleTools experts walk you through how to evaluate and cite different types of sources in all 3 levels!
 

Checklist to Review Your Work

  • All your sources are correctly cited and your list includes an appropriate range of relevant online and print sources.  You have followed the requirements for the project.
  • Notecards about your sources are well-organized, and they identify key points both in the author's quote and your assignment.
  • The notecards show you understand the author's meaning and/or you ask thoughtful questions.
  • Your outline's topic demonstrates original thinking, is well-organized, and is relevant to your assignment.
 

Logging in to NoodleTools

Log in: NoodleTools

  • Create a Personal ID, using your school username (initials + ID#) and a password of your choice.
       Please do fill out graduation year, initials, and phone number information asked for.
  • If NoodleTools asks for the school authentication information, you will need to get the Remote Access brochure from the circulation desk.  This lists passwords for all of our subscription-based resources.
  • To start a new project, find the Create a New Project button on the right side of the screen.
  • The default should be MLA Advanced.  No need to change that.
  • Give your project a name.  This will be your "folder" which will hold all your citations for that project.
  • Click Works Cited to start your works cited.
 

Citing Basics

 

One of the keys to citing correctly is knowing what it is you are citing. Are you citing from a database with original content (ABC CLIO, Britannica), with reprinted reference book information, from a magazine, journal, newspaper, website? How can you tell?

The databases provide clues in their citations, no matter what style they are using.

If the information from the database includes:

  • a date of publication as a year and includes a publisher, it is most likely a book or reference source that you accessed from a database. Reference Sources include anything with the words Encyclopedia or Dictionary in the title.
  • a full date of publication, including day, month, and year, it is most likely a newspaper. Also if the title of the source has the words Post, Times, or the name of a city in it, it is probably a newspaper. It may also have a section and unusual page number (ex. Sports, pg. 08C).
  • a season and a year indicates it is probably a journal.
  • a month and a year indicates it might be a magazine or journal. Sometimes magazines have complete dates too.
  • When in doubt, Google the name of the source!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip